We are now OE GLOBAL.
You are viewing archived content. Please visit oeglobal.org for our new site.

OCW Consortium Announces New President

The OpenCourseWare Consortium (OCW Consortium) Board of Directors has elected Anka Mulder as its new President. The announcement was made at the Consortium’s global conference, which included representatives from the more than 250 universities and associated organizations worldwide committed to advancing opencourseware (OCW). Mulder currently serves as the director of education and student affairs at Delft University of Technology in the Netherlands.  She succeeds Stephen Carson of MIT, who held the position for three years.
“Anka takes on her leadership role at an important pinnacle in our organization—the 10th anniversary of the OCW movement and our  goal to usher in a new era of international awareness and commitment,” said Mary Lou Forward, executive director of OCW Consortium. “Anka, the first president from outside the U.S., will lead our mission to build more attention to the movement and the Consortium worldwide.”

“Thanks to the efforts of our prior president, Stephen Carson, the Consortium has grown enormously,” said Mulder. “In my new role, I will strive to work to provide a voice for our international community, enhance the user experience and need, and continue to grow the worldwide membership base which includes connecting government entities with the OCW movement.”

Mulder was elected based on work serving on the organization’s board of directors and as the director of education and student affairs at Delft University of Technology. As one of the early adopters of open learning, Mulder spearheaded the university’s educational strategy, policies and student facilities. She is involved with implementing projects related to educational innovation, including the initiation of an OCW project for the university. Mulder oversees the program, ensures the adoption of the OCW movement within the school, administers the internal and external communications of the program and helps define the university’s future strategy with the OCW movement.

The OCW Consortium also announced the results of elections for its Board of Directors.  Elected to serve two-year terms through May, 2013 were:  Youngsup Kim, Handong Univerity and Korea OCW Consortium, Korea; Murilo Mandonca, UNISUL, Brazil; Anka Mulder, Delft University of Technology, the Netherlands; Edmundo Tovar, Universidad Politecnica Madrid, Spain; Joel Thierstein, Connexions, USA.  Yoshimi Fukuhara, representing Meiji University and the Japan OCW Consortium, was elected to a one-year term.  They join Board members serving terms through May 2012: Stephen Carson, MIT, USA; Larry Cooperman, University of California, Irvine, USA; Ignasi Labastida i Juan, Creative Commons International, Spain; Philipp Schmidt, University of the Western Cape, South Africa.