OCWC announces 2013 winners of individual awards for opencourseware excellence

Individual awards announced; site and course awards to follow.

CAMBRIDGE, MA, March 26, 2013 —  The OpenCourseWare Consortium has announced the 2013 winners of individual Awards for OpenCourseWare Excellence (ACE).

Professor Barbara Illowsky, Professor of Mathematics at De Anza Community College in California, USA, has been selected to receive the Educator ACE for her work in creating an open statistics text book used by more than 20 colleges in the US, Canada and elsewhere.  Previous winners of this award include MIT Professor Walter Lewin (2011) and José Vida Fernández from the University Carlos III of Madrid (2012).

Professor ChiKaung Pai of National Chiao Tung University is the recipient of the OpenCourseWare Consortium’s Leadership ACE for her efforts in establishing NCTU OCW and leading the Taiwan OpenCourseWare Consortium. Previous winners of this award include Pedro Aranzadi Elejabeitia of Universia (2011) and Dr. Oladele Ogunseitan from the University of California, Irvine (2012).

The Awards for OpenCourseWare Excellence provide annual recognition to outstanding individuals, courseware and OpenCourseWare sites in the OCW Consortium community.  The awards are presented each year at the global OpenCourseWare Consortium’s annual conference, to be held this year May 8-10 in Bali, Indonesia.  Individual award recipients are selected by the Consortium’s Board of Directors; site and course awards are selected by an awards committee populated from the Consortium membership.  Site ACE’s will be announced in April and ACE’s for individual courses will be announced at the OCWC Conference.

“The work of these two recipients exemplifies the many amazing contributions by individuals across the open education community,” said OCW Consortium Executive Director Mary Lou Forward.  “We are pleased to recognize the outstanding efforts these individuals have made to expand educational opportunity worldwide.”

About Barbara Illowsky

Barbara Illowsky, Professor of Mathematics at De Anza Community College in California, USA, was one of the early leaders of open education in community colleges. She is the co-author of the Collaborative Statistics open textbook.  As of summer 2012, the textbook—housed at the Connexions repository available in web, pdf, and ePub format—had been adopted by over 40 faculty in 20 colleges in 12 U.S. states, Canada and elsewhere..  She is currently working with OpenStax College to release a new interactive web version of the textbook in 2013. Throughout her career, she has been an advocate of using technology to increase access to education.  Dr. Illowsky is a tenured professor of mathematics and former department chair at De Anza Community College where she has taught since 1989. She is the past president of the CMC3 (California Mathematics Council, Community Colleges) where she has demonstrated leadership in improving math instruction through the use of online technologies and interactive curriculum.

About ChiKaung Pai

Professor Chikaung Pai led National Chiao Tung University (NCTU) to launch a successful OCW sites and has been a tireless promoter of OCW in Taiwan. She is now the director of Open Education Office in NCTU and the chief Secretary of Taiwan OpenCourseWare Consortium (TOCWC).

About OpenCourseWare

An OpenCourseWare is a free and open digital publication of high quality university-level educational materials – often including syllabi, lecture notes, assignments, and exams – organized as courses. While OpenCourseWare (OCW) initiatives typically do not provide a degree, credit, or certification, or access to instructors, the materials are made available under open licenses for use and adaptation by educators and learners around the world.

About the OpenCourseWare Consortium

The OpenCourseWare Consortium  is a community of more than 250 universities and associated organizations from around the world committed to advancing open education and its impact on educational opportunities worldwide. Activities of the OpenCourseWare Consortium are supported by the William and Flora Hewlett Foundation, member dues, and contributions from sustaining members including: African Virtual University, Delft University of Technology, Fundação Getulio Vargas – FGV Online, Japan OpenCourseWare Consortium, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Korea OpenCourseWare Consortium, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, NetEase Information Technology, Open Universiteit, Taiwan OpenCourseWare Consortium, Tecnológico de Monterrey, Tufts University, Universia, Universidad Politécnica de Madrid, University of California, Irvine, and the University of Michigan.


Stephen Carson
Chair, OpenCourseWare Consortium Awards Committee