We are now OE GLOBAL.
You are viewing archived content. Please visit oeglobal.org for our new site.

OCW Consortium Announces 2014 Winners of Site and Course Awards for OpenCourseWare Excellence

April 14, 2014 – The OpenCourseWare Consortium announces the 2014 winners of Site and Course Awards for OpenCourseWare Excellence (ACE) in three categories: 1) Outstanding Site, 2) Outstanding Course and 3) Open MOOC.

The ACE Awards committee, populated by educators and open education advocates from around the world, reviews and selects winners. Sites and courses are produced in a variety of languages and developed by institutions committed to increasing access to high quality education for everyone. The OpenCourseWare Consortium is pleased to recognize these institutions and the sites and courses they have contributed to free and open education.


1. UNED Abierta OCW 
Universidad Nacional de Educación a Distancia

2. National Taiwan University OCW
National Taiwan University

3. TU Delft OpenCourseWare
Delft University of Technology


1. General Physics
National Tsing Hua University Opencourseware
Prof. Lin Hsiu-Hau

2. Mini-vídeos docentes modulares para diseñar un MOOC
Universidad Nacional de Educación a Distancia (UNED)
Emilio Letón
Manuel Luque
Tomás García-Saiz
Elisa M. Molanes-López

3. Gastrointestinal Endscopy in Small Animals
University of Murcia
Prof. Ignacio Ayala de la Peña


1. Solar Energy
Delft University of Technology
Dr. Arno Smets

2. Introduction to Water Treatment
Delft University of Technology
Prof.Dr.Ir. Jules B. van Lier

3. Pre-Algebra CCC 2013 
Cuyahoga Community College
Professor Idrissa Aidara
Professor Don Gabriel
Professor Curtis Kaschube
Professor Cathleen Rossman
Professor Michael Wilkins
Dr. Belinda Miles
Dr. Charles Dull
Sash Thackaberry
Cheryl Knight
MaryAnne Nestor

About the ACE Awards

The Awards for OpenCourseWare Excellence provide annual recognition to outstanding contributions in the open education community. They also recognize individual leadership in moving the ideals of OpenCourseWare and Open Educational Resources forward. The awards are presented each year at the global OpenCourseWare Consortium’s annual conference, to be held this year April 23-25 in Ljubljana, Slovenia. The Consortium’s Board of Directors selects individual award recipients. The other three award categories -site, course and project- are selected by the ACE awards committee populated from the Consortium membership.

About the OpenCourseWare Consortium

The OpenCourseWare Consortium is a community of more than 300 universities and associated organizations from around the world committed to advancing open education and its impact on educational opportunities worldwide. Activities of the OpenCourseWare Consortium are supported by the William and Flora Hewlett Foundation, member dues, and contributions from sustaining members including: African Virtual University, Community College Consortium for Open Educational Resources, Delft University of Technology, Fundação Getulio Vargas – FGV Online, Japan OpenCourseWare Consortium, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Korea OpenCourseWare Consortium, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Netease Information Technology, Open Universiteit, Organisation Internationale de la Francophonie, Taiwan OpenCourseWare Consortium, Tecnológico de Monterrey, Tufts University, Universia, Universidad Politécnica de Madrid, University of California, Irvine, University of Michigan.