We are now OE GLOBAL.
You are viewing archived content. Please visit oeglobal.org for our new site.

OEC Announces New Board Members

The Open Education Consortium (OEC) is pleased to announce the five newly elected and re-elected members of the Board of Directors for the 2018-2020 term. The election results are as follows:

Votes: 75, Sophie Touzé, France.
Votes: 70, Lena Patterson, Canada.
Votes: 62, Willem van Valkenburg, The Netherlands.
Votes: 62, Jane-Frances Obiageli Agbu, Nigeria.
Votes: 60, Katsusuke Shigeta, Japan.

With the recent election, the composition of the Board is truly global with representatives from France, Netherlands, Brazil, Australia, Indonesia, Taiwan,  United States, Canada, Taiwan, Japan, South Africa and Nigeria. The newly elected/re-elected join the current Board of Director members, Peter Smith, Allyn Radford, James Glapa-Grossklag, Stavros Panagiotis Xanthopoylos, Laura Czerniewicz, Amanda Coolidge, Tian Belawati, and Yu-Lun Huang.

We also extend sincere gratitude to the following board members who completed their terms, Barbara Illowsky, Papa Youga Dieng, and Naoko Tosa.  

The OEC would like to express its sincere appreciation to all of the candidates who ran and to the 97 OEC member organizations that voted. Newly elected/re-elected Board members will be formally installed during the Board meeting following the OE Global 2018 Conference in Delft, the Netherlands.

View full Press Release.
Download Press Release PDF.