Open Education Awards for Excellence

The Open Education Awards for Excellence provide annual recognition to outstanding contributions in the Open Education community. These awards recognize distinctive Open Educational Resources, Open Projects & Initiatives, as well as exemplary leaders in Open Education worldwide.

Every year the Open Education Awards for Excellence Committee gathers to review the award categories to make sure they are current, relevant and reflect the emerging innovations in the Open Education movement. 2018 Award categories will be posted on September 4th, 2017.

If there is a category you would like to see included or if you have any questions or comments please feel free to contact us at


Sep 4, 2017 – OE Awards categories posted

Oct 2, 2017 – Call for nominations opens

Jan 15, 2018 – Nominations period closes

Jan 23, 2018 – OEC Board selects individual winners

Feb 7, 2018 – Individual winners announced (press release)

Mar 2, 2018 – OE Awards Committee finalizes winner selection

Mar 21, 2018 – OE Awards winners announced (press release)

April 24-26, 2018 – Awards ceremony during Open Education Global Conference