Board of Directors

The Board of Directors of the Open Education Consortium is composed of elected representatives from member institutions.  The Board of Directors provides strategic direction and fiscal oversight to the organization.

The Nominations Committee solicits nominations for vacant board seats in February-March each year. Elections are held by online ballot in March-April.  For questions about the election process, or to inquire about nominating a candidate for the Board of Directors, please contact us at



Board Members Representing Location Term
bio_james James Glapa-Grossklag
President of the Board
College of the Canyons United States 2015-2017
bio_thumbnail_marylou Sophie TOUZÉ
Vice-President of the Board
VetAgro Sup – Campus Vétérinaire de Lyon France 2016-2018
 stavros Stavros Panagiotis Xanthopoylos ABED – Brazilian Association for Distance Education Brazil 2015-2017
bio_willem Willem van Valkenburg Delft University of Technology Netherlands 2016-2018
bio_sorel Sorel Reisman MERLOT United States 2015-2017
Yin-Nan Huang  Yin-Nan Huang National Taiwan University Taiwan 2015-2017
 Prof. Naoko Tosa Naoko Tosa Japan OCW Consortium Japan 2015-2017
 Dr. Barbara Illowsky

Barbara Illowsky

Community College Consortium for OER (CCCOER) United States 2016-2018
 Allyn J Radford

Allyn J Radford

Australian Computer Society, Transforming Credentials Australia 2016-2018
Papa Youga Dieng Papa Youga Dieng Organisation internationale de la Francophonie France 2016-2018
bio_diallo Dr Bakary Diallo
African Virtual University Kenya 2015-2017
cooperman Larry Cooperman
Past President of the Board
University of California, Irvine United States